Fredrik Backman Books in Order (A Man Called Ove, Beartown, Anxious People)

  • Fabien 
Fredrik Backman Books in Order

All of the books!

Who is Fredrik Backman?

A Swedish columnist, blogger and, of course, writer, Fredrik Backman is the author of bestsellers like A Man Called Ove, Beartown, and its sequel Us Against You, and Anxious People. Backman’s books have been published around the world in more than twenty-five languages.

And now, his books are becoming TV shows and movies, notably A Man Called Ove, and now Beartown—adapted by HBO Nordic.


Fredrik Backman Books in Order:

A Man Called Ove Fredrik Backman Books in Order Things My Son Needs to Know About the World Fredrik Backman Books in Order My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises Fredrik Backman Books in Order Britt-Marie Was Here Fredrik Backman Books in Order

  1. A Man Called Ove (2012) – Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He isn’t as young as he used to be. He drives a Saab. He points at people he doesn’t like the look of. He is described by those around his as ‘the neighbour from hell’.Every morning he makes his inspection rounds of the local streets. He moves bicycles and checks the contents of recycling bins, even though it’s been years since he was fired as Chairman of the Residents’ Association in a vicious ‘coup d’état’. But behind the surly pedant there is a story, and a sadness.
  2. Things My Son Needs to Know About the World (2012) – The personal dispatches from the front lines of one of the most daunting experiences any man can experience: fatherhood. As he conveys his profound awe at experiencing all the “firsts” that fill him with wonder and catch him completely unprepared, Fredrik Backman doesn’t shy away from revealing his own false steps and fatherly flaws, tackling issues both great and small, from masculinity and midlife crises to practical jokes and poop.
  3. My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry (2013) – Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother’s house. Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them. But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally? Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown? Seven-year-old Elsa does.
  4. Britt-Marie Was Here (2014) – When Britt-Marie walks out on her cheating husband and has to fend for herself in the miserable backwater town of Borg—of which the kindest thing one can say is that it has a road going through it—she finds work as the caretaker of a soon-to-be demolished recreation center. The fastidious Britt-Marie soon finds herself being drawn into the daily doings of her fellow citizens, an odd assortment of miscreants, drunkards, layabouts. Most alarming of all, she’s given the impossible task of leading the supremely untalented children’s soccer team to victory. In this small town of misfits, can Britt-Marie find a place where she truly belongs?

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer Fredrik Backman Books in Order Beartown Fredrik Backman Books in Order Deal of a Lifetime Fredrik Backman Books in Order

  1. And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer: A Novella (2016) – Grandpa and Noah are sitting on a bench in a square that keeps getting smaller every day. As they wait together on the bench, they tell jokes and discuss their shared love of mathematics.
  2. Beartown (2017) – By the lake in Beartown is an old ice rink, and in that ice rink Kevin, Amat, Benji, and the rest of the town’s junior ice hockey team are about to compete in the national semi-finals—and they actually have a shot at winning. All the hopes and dreams of this place now rest on the shoulders of a handful of teenage boys. Under that heavy burden, the match becomes the catalyst for a violent act that will leave a young girl traumatized and a town in turmoil. Accusations are made and, like ripples on a pond, they travel through all of Beartown. There’s now a sequel: Us Against You.
  3. The Deal of a Lifetime: A Novella (2017) – A father and a son are seeing each other for the first time in years. The father has a story to share before it’s too late. He tells his son about a courageous little girl lying in a hospital bed a few miles away. She’s a smart kid—smart enough to know that she won’t beat cancer by drawing with crayons all day, but it seems to make the adults happy, so she keeps doing it.

Us Against You Fredrik Backman Books in Order Anxious People Fredrik Backman Books in Order

  1. Us Against You (2018) – A sequel to Beartown. A small community tucked deep in the forest, Beartown is home to tough, hardworking people who don’t expect life to be easy or fair. No matter how difficult times get, they’ve always been able to take pride in their local ice hockey team. So it’s a cruel blow when they hear that Beartown ice hockey might soon be disbanded. What makes it worse is the obvious satisfaction that all the former Beartown players, who now play for a rival team in the neighboring town of Hed, take in that fact. As the tension mounts between the two adversaries, a newcomer arrives who gives Beartown hockey a surprising new coach and a chance at a comeback.
  2. Anxious People (2019) – Taken hostage by a failed bank robber while attending an open house, eight anxiety-prone strangers–including a redemption-seeking bank director, two couples who would fix their marriages, and a plucky octogenarian–discover their unexpected common traits.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *