Skip to Content

Divergent Books in Order: How to read Veronica Roth’s series?

Divergent Books in Order: How to read Veronica Roth’s series?
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.

Not the Hunger Games.

What is the Divergent series about?

The Divergent series is a Young Adult science fiction series written by Veronica Roth. The story takes place in a dystopian society divided into five factions – Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent).

The citizens are defined by their social and personality-related affiliation in order to remove the threat of anyone exercising independent will. We follow Beatrice Prior (who changes her name to Tris).

She’s an Abnegation-born and Dauntless transfer and must figure out her life as a Divergent, while concealing her true nature, and living with the danger of being killed if it is discovered.

The Divergent series was adapted into a movie with Shailene Woodley starring as Beatrice “Tris” Prior and Theo James as Tobias “Four” Eaton. 

Divergent Books in Order:

  1. Four: A Divergent Collection – a prequel to the Divergent trilogy. This book collects the fort short stories: The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor. They address Tobias’s backstory and some of the mysterious things going on in the world before Tris chose Dauntless. There is some overlap, so it’s better to read it after the main trilogy.
  2. Divergent – Beatrice Prior must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she’s determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.
  3. Insurgent – As war surges in the factions of dystopian Chicago all around her, Tris attempts to save those she loves – and herself – while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

  1. The World of Divergent: The Path to Allegiant – More of a bonus than a book, this fifty-page add-on includes faction manifestos, a faction quiz, Q&A with Veronica Roth, book playlists, discussion questions, series inspirations, and more. For the hardcore fans.
  2. Allegiant – Tris and Tobias battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature – and their selves – while facing impossible choices of courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.
  3. We Can Be Mended – This short-story epilogue takes place five years after the events of Allegiant. As Tobias struggles to understand and move past his fears, the world he once knew has changed beyond recognition. Fringe-dwellers, ex-faction members, Bureau dropouts, and migrants now coexist in the rebuilt streets of Chicago.
Divergent Series Four-Book Paperback Box Set

Divergent Series Four-Book Paperback Box Set


Friday 26th of March 2021

Hey goodkid125, it's a teen book series. So 12-13 is generally considered a good age to read it.


Wednesday 24th of March 2021

is this a kids book to?( i am 12)

Lisa Perez

Monday 8th of November 2021

If you are on a high reading level, yes. I read It by Stephen King when I was 12. It’s pretty scary but I loved it. I also would have enjoyed this series at your age.

I think you should start with insurgent and read them the way the author intended. Also, Four has spoilers. IMHO, you would enjoy it much more in proper, written order.


Saturday 8th of August 2020

he is hot but thats in the movies you should read the books because then you will understand why he is the way he is and like the books are way better then the movies the movies leave out so much important things that have to happen or its not good and the movies changed alot of what happens like what happens in Alegent didnt happen in the book they changed that and then they changed what made Trises and Tobiases realashonship work and like it didnt show why they loved each other so much and the books are way better because they describe things like how they feel or how they came to a conclusion that in the movies they couldnt show it because it was in her head so i dont like the movies yes hes hot but like the books are way better you should read them you will hate the movies after


Saturday 8th of August 2020

no i dont think you should its your choise tho but the book ended so good that i think it would runi it if you read it

Kyla Wiersema

Monday 2nd of September 2019

Hello! Should I read the path of Allegiant? Because if it part of the story I would like to read it, but if it’s just a extra q and a I wouldn’t want to read it