Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Reading Order

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

By the man behind Odd Thomas, Jane Hawk, and Nameless.

What is Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Books about?

Presented as a sort of modern updating and sequel to Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (though on a superficial level), the Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein series takes place in present-day New Orleans.

Victor Frankenstein is still alive, going by another name, and continuing his work. Now, he creates a series of artificial life forms from the ground up, no longer using actual human body parts.

Opposed to his activities are his original monster, known as Deucalion, and a pair of homicide detectives.

How to read Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Books in Order?

First, here is Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein reading order. For more information about the books in the series, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books.

  1. Prodigal Son (2005, with Kevin J Anderson)
  2. City of Night (2005, with Ed Gorman)
  3. Dead and Alive, 2009)
  4. Lost Souls, 2010)
  5. The Dead Town,2011)

Dean Koontz Frankenstein Books Series in Order

Prodigal Son – He is Deucalion, a tattooed man of mysterious origin, a sleight-of-reality artist who has traveled the centuries with a secret worse than death. He arrives in New Orleans as a serial killer stalks the streets, a killer who carefully selects his victims for the humanity that is missing in himself. Deucalion’s path will lead him to cool, tough police detective Carson O’Connor and her devoted partner, Michael Maddison, who are tracking the slayer but will soon discover signs of something far more terrifying: an entire race of killers who are much more–and less–than humans and, deadliest of all, their deranged, near-immortal maker: Victor Helios–once known as Frankenstein.

City of Night – They are stronger, heal better, and think faster than any humans ever created–and they must be destroyed. Not even Victor Helios–once Frankenstein–can stop the engineered killers he’s set loose on a reign of terror through modern-day New Orleans. Only the one-time “monster” Deucalion and his all-too-human partners, Detectives Carson O’Connor and Michael Maddison, stand in their way. But as the three race to uncover the true dimensions of an age-old conspiracy, they will discover that Victor’s new, improved models have infiltrated every level of the city’s society . . . and far beyond.

Dead and Alive – As a devastating hurricane approaches, as the benighted creations of Victor Helios begin to spin out of control, as New Orleans descends into chaos and the future of humanity hangs in the balance, the only hope rests with Victor’s first, failed attempt to build the perfect human. But first they must face a monstrosity not even Victor’s malignant mind could have conceived–an indestructible entity that steps out of humankind’s collective nightmare with powers, and a purpose, beyond imagining.

Lost Souls – Deucalion-Victor’s first, haunted creation-saw his maker die in New Orleans two years earlier. Yet an unshakable intuition tells him that Victor lives-and is at work again. Within hours Deucalion will come together with his old allies, detectives Carson O’Connor and Michael Maddison, Victor’s engineered wife, Erika Five, and her companion Jocko to confront new peril. Others will gather around them. But this time Victor has a mysterious, powerful new backer, and he and his army are more formidable, their means and intentions infinitely more deadly, than ever before.

The Dead Town – As the small town of Rainbow Falls, Montana, comes under siege, scattered survivors come together to weather the onslaught of the creatures set loose upon the world. As they ready for battle against overwhelming odds, they will learn the full scope of Victor Frankenstein’s nihilistic plan to remake the future-and the terrifying reach of his shadowy, powerful supporters.

What should you read if you like Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein novels?

If you like reading Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein stories, you may be interested in The Anno Dracula series by Kim Newman, The I, Frankenstein series by Dan Grendell, The Tempest series by Julie Cross…

Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *