A reading guide to comics and books

Category: Reading Guide Page 2 of 45

Joseph O'Loughlin Books in Order

Joseph O’Loughlin Books in Order: How to read Michael Robotham’s series?

The psychologist who catches murderers.

Who is Joseph O’Loughlin?

From Australian crime fiction writer Michael Robotham, this series is about a psychiatrist solving crimes.

The psychologist is forty-two-year-old Joseph O’Loughlin, a man who had every reason to be happy, until his life took an unexpected turn when he’s diagnosed with Parkinson’s. Then the police asked for his help. That’s when he starts working with Vincent Ruiz, a hard-drinking tough talking homicide detective.

Sister Fidelma Books in Order

Sister Fidelma Books in Order: How to read Peter Tremayne’s series?

For those who like Medieval Murder Mysteries, but not with Brother Cadfael.

What is the Sister Fidelma series about?

Written by Peter Tremayne (pseudonym of Peter Berresford Ellis), The Sister Fidelma series is a historical mystery series taking us back to the 7th century.

Sister Fidelma is an Eognacht princess and sister to the king of Cashel, a religieuse of the Celtic Church and an advocate of the Brehornn court. With the help of her partner Brother Eadulf, a Saxon monk, she solves crime, mainly in Ireland.

Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order

Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order: How to read Kaitlyn Dunnett’s series?

Cozy murders in Moosetookalook, Maine.

Who is Liss MacCrimmon?

Written by Kaitlyn Dunnett, the cozy mystery series takes us in the town of Moosetookalook, Maine for some amateur sleuthing.

At the center of the series, there’s Liss MacCrimmon who, after a knee injury, is forced to end her professional career as a Scottish dancer. So, she gives up her life of performing strathspeys, reels, jigs and Highland flings and returns to her hometown of Moosetookalook, Maine, where she runs a Scottish Emporium. There, murder find her pretty quickly and she starts investigating.

Hellmouth Reading Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth Reading Order: How to read the Buffy/Angel Boom Studios’ event?

As explained in the Buffyverse Comics Reading Order, Dark Horse Comics’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer license expired at the end of 2018, and the license is now in the hands of BOOM! Studios who relaunched the series in 2019 and followed 3 months later with an Angel title. The publisher didn’t lose time and offered the first cross-over event, Hellmouth.

What is the Hellmouth event about?

Written by Jordie Bellaire and Jeremy Lambert and illustrated by Eleonora Carlini and Marco Renna, Hellmouth is a miniseries of the crossover event tying into the Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel comic book series.

As Boom Studios explain to us, Buffy and her Scooby Gang will have to muster all their strength as they deal with an open Hellmouth that threatens the lives of everyone they love in Sunnydale. Meanwhile, Angel, the vampire cursed with a soul, arrives in town to find his redemption by doing whatever it takes to close the Hellmouth… and no human, demon, or Slayer will stand in his way.


Dr. Siri Paiboun Books in Order: How to read Colin Cotterill’s series?

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic has a coroner now…

Who is Dr. Siri Paiboun?

Written by English/Australian author Colin Cotterill, this mystery series takes us back in the 1970s in the Lao People’s Democratic Republic.

The story resolves around seventy-two-year-old Dr. Siri Paiboun, one of the last doctors left in Laos after the Communist takeover. He is untrained for the job, but has been drafted to be national coroner anyway. Worse, his lab is underfunded, his boss is incompetent, and his support staff is quirky. But that will not stop him from doing his work and catch killers.

Lacey Flint Books in Order: How to read Sharon J. Bolton’s mystery series?

A female detective constable with London’s Metropolitan police.

Who is Lacey Flint?

Lacey Flint is the heroine of the police procedural novels written by English author Sharon Bolton. She is a female detective constable with London’s Metropolitan police with a suspicious past.

Lacey Flint is a practical person, who has no difficulty defying orders to achieve the results she is looking for. She’s ready to go undercover to find out the deepest and darkest secrets London has to offer, with a tendency to unintentionally become involved with serial killer cases.

Night Soldiers Books in Order

Night Soldiers Books in Order: How to read Alan Furst’s series?

Spying in the Nazi era…

What is the Night Soldiers series about?

Written by American author Alan Furst, the Night Soldiers novels are espionage thrillers tanking place Europe, starting in the 1930s and through World War II.

Those are realistic stories of (mostly) reluctant heroes in wartime, an exploration of the multiple resistance movements all over Europe, from occupied Paris to London, from the front to the well-organized Communist underground.

Amulet Books in Order

Amulet Books in Order: How to read Kazu Kibuishi’s graphic novel series?

Two ordinary children are on a life-or-death mission in a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, and a giant robot.

What is Amulet about?

Illustrated and written by Kazu Kibuishi, Amulet is an American graphic novel series. The story follows the adventures of Emily, a young girl who discovers a magical amulet in her great-grandfather’s house.

After their father’s death, Emily and her younger brother Navin move into their great-grandfather’s country house outside a town called Norlen. The children soon find themselves battling for the freedom of a parallel world and face mounting dangers with newfound friends.

Haven Point Books in Order

Haven Point Books in Order: How to read RaeAnne Thayne?

Welcome to Haven Point!

What is Haven Point about?

Written by the Cowboys of Cold Creek author, RaeAnne Thayne, Haven Point is taking us to a small town to talk about healing.

Haven Point is indeed a small town of roughly four thousand people on the shores of Lake Haven, and those who needs healing can find it with the help of the good people of this unique place in Idaho.

Dexter Books in Order

Dexter Books in Order: How to read Jeff Lindsay’s series?

Maybe the most famous fictional serial killer, after Hannibal.

Who is Dexter?

Dexter is the creation of american crime novelist Jeff Lindsay, made famous thanks to Showtime television series of the same name, where he is portrayed by Michael C. Hall.

Dexter Morgan is a forensic blood spatter analyst for the Miami-Dade Police Department by day, and a serial killer by day. Convinced the legal system failed to stop murderers, rapists and other criminals, Dexter takes justice in his own ends, and kill them.

Page 2 of 45

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén