How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Category: Reading Guide (Page 1 of 43)

Osten Ard Books in Order

Osten Ard Books in Order: How to read Tad Williams’ fantasy series?

From the author of the Otherland series, and the Shadowmarch series

What is the Osten Ard series about?

From American fantasy and science fiction writer Tad Williams, the Osten Ard Saga started in 1988 with the first trilogy (“Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn”) and, after twenty-four years, with a second trilogy (“The Last King of Osten Ard”).

Taking place on the fictional continent of Osten Ard where humans, Sithi, and Qanuc live in relative peace. But when King John Presbyter, a dragon slayer, dies and his son Elias ascends the throne, a long-dormant evil is ready to enter the realm and threaten the peace.

Read More

Veronica Speedwell Books in Order

Veronica Speedwell Books in Order: How to read Deanna Raybourn’s series?

By The Writer of The Lady Julia Grey series.

Who is Veronica Speedwell?

Written by American author of historical fiction and historical mysteries Deanna Raybourn, the Veronica Speedweel series, like her Lady Julia Grey series, takes us back to the Victorian era in England.

It follows the intrepid adventuress and sleuth Veronica Speedwell. She’s a natural historian with a specialty in lepidoptery which makes her a butterfly hunter and world traveler who is always up for adventure.

Read More

Ursula Blanchard Books in Order

Ursula Blanchard Books in Order: How to read Fiona Buckley’s series?

Another Royal Spy series.

who is Ursula Blanchard?

Historical fiction set in the reign of Elizabeth I of England, the Ursula Blanchard series is written by British author Valerie Anand under the pen name Fiona Buckley.

Ursula Faldene Blanchard de la Roche Stannard is the illegitimate half sister to Queen Elizabeth I, a twenty-seven-year-old Lady of the Presence Chamber and sometime spy on the Queen’s behalf.

Read More

Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order

The Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order: How to read James Barclay’s books?

Deadly mercenaries in a deadly land.

What is The Chronicles of the Raven Series about?

Written by British high fantasy author James Barclay, this series takes us in the world of Balaia with a group of mercenaries who call themselves… The Raven.

As the title suggests, The Chronicles of the Raven is about the lives of the members of The Raven who, after years of success together, are confronted by a danger than put their loyalty and code to the test. Between magic and war, the mercenary band travel from one deadly quest to another impossible mission.

Read More

The First Law Books in Order

The First Law Books in Order: How to read Joe Abercrombie’s fantasy series?

Discover the grimdark world of Joe Abercrombie.

What is The First Law about?

Written by British author Joe Abercrombie, The First Law is a fantasy series consisting of two trilogy, three stand-alone novels and a number of short stories set in the same world.

The First Law series is set in an epic fantasy world at war, reminiscent of medieval-era Europe and the greater Mediterranean world, called the Circle of the Wold. In the North, The Union (which contains multiple provinces) is at war with The Northmen, a rough alliance of several northern tribes. In the South, the Union and the Gurkish Empire are in a conflict for the control of the Union City of Dagoska. The story follows the fortunes and misfortunes of characters inhabiting this world and navigation through these and other conflicts.

Read More

Anderson and Costello Books in Order: How to read Caro Ramsay’s series?

Some Scottish murder mysteries…

What is the Anderson and Costello series about?

From Scottish writer Caro Ramsay, the Anderson and Costello series is a crime procedural taking place in Glasgow.

For more than ten books, the series follow Detective Inspector Colin Anderson and his long-time partner Detective Sergeant Freddie Costello as they investigate murder mysteries in a sea of red herrings filled with a lot of suspense.

Read More

The Lady Sherlock Series Books in Order

The Lady Sherlock Books in Order: How to read Sherry Thomas’ series?

If Sherlock Holmes was a woman.

Who is Lady Sherlock?

Written by American novelist Sherry M. Thomas, The Lady Sherlock series gender-flips Sherlock Holmes into Charlotte Holmes.

Charlotte Holmes creates the fiction of a “Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective” and masquerades as his sister to solve investigates crimes in Victorian-era London with the help of a female benefactor and a handsome gentleman.

Read More

Alex Duggins Books in Order: How to read Stella Cameron’s series?

Murder in the Cotswolds.

Who is Alex Duggins?

Written by Stella Cameron, this mystery series started as an ebook success story before becoming a paperback one.

The series centers on Alex Duggins who, after the end of her marriage, came back to her hometown of Folly-on-Weir in the Cotswolds. She started anew, opened a pub named The Black Dog and stumbled onto murder mysteries, becoming an amateur sleuth in the process.

Read More

Dragonriders of Pern Books in Order: How to read Anne McCaffrey’s fantasy classic series?

Let’s ride dragons !

What is Dragonriders of Pern about?

Written by American-Irish author Anne McCaffrey, Dragonriders of Pern is a science fantasy series published since 1968. Beginning in 2003, her middle child Todd McCaffrey has written Pern novels, both solo and jointly with Anne. The series comprises 23 novels and several short stories.

Dragonriders of Pern takes place in an isolated world where life is presented as a pre-industrial society. But their ancient way of life is about to come under attack from a myth that is all too real. And a girl and her dragon will change Pern forever.

Read More

Suzanne Collins Books in Order (The Hunger Games, The Underland Chronicles and more)

All of the books!

Who is Suzanne Collins?

Born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford, Connecticut, Suzanne Collins is an is an American television writer and author. She began her career in 1991 as a writer for children’s television shows, before she begun to write children’s books. Her debut book, Gregor the Overlander is published in 2003.

She has been named one of Time magazine’s most influential people of 2010 and In March 2012, Amazon announced that she had become the best-selling Kindle author of all time, thanks to The Hunger Games trilogy, which went on to become a popular motion picture series starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

Read More

Page 1 of 43

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén