Alan Bradley Books in Order (author of the Flavia de Luce series)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

All of Alan Bradley’s Books in Order.

Who is Alan Bradley?

Canadian author Alan Bradley started his professional life as a radio and television engineer which led him to work as Director of Television Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan for 25 years. Following his early retirement in 1994, Bradley focused on writing, mostly screenplays before working on memoirs.

In early 2007, Bradley entered the Debut Dagger Fiction competition, writing what would become the beginning of the first book in the Flavia de Luce series.

The story takes us in the English countryside in 1950 with the young Flavia de Luce, a smart eleven-year-old with a passion for chemistry and a genius for solving murders.

How to read Alan Bradley’s Books in Order?

The Flavia de Luce series

You can find more information about the series with our Flavia de Luce Reading Order.

  1. The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie (2009)
  2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag (2010)
  3. A Red Herring Without Mustard (2011)
  4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows (2011)
  5. Speaking From Among the Bones (2013)
  6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (2014)
  7. The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (2014, short story)
  8. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust (2015)
  9. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d (2016)
  10. The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place (2018)
  11. The Golden Tresses of the Dead (2019)

Other Novels by Alan Bradley

Ms Holmes of Baker Street The Truth About Sherlock - Alan Bradley Books in Order The Shoebox Bible - Alan Bradley Books in Order

  • Ms. Holmes of Baker Street (with William A S Sarjeant, 1980) – Sherlock Holmes strides into our imagination, deerstalker hat jauntily set on his head, pipe protruding from his mouth, and a formidable intellect from which he painstakingly masters the mysteries he investigates. Yet the qualities that set Holmes apart as a masterful sleuth are rather commonplace—perhaps even universal—in any woman. In a deep investigation of the literature of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, C. Alan Bradley and William A.S. Sarjeant uncover the surprising truth about Sherlock Holmes.
  • The Shoebox Bible (2006) – On a cold, dark winter day during the Second World War, a young Alan Bradley found hidden beneath a floorboard in his mother’s bedroom closet a well-worn cardboard shoebox. At the time, he could make little sense of the ragtag things he found inside: cigarette packages, soup can labels, handbills, calendars, paper bags, pie boxes-any scrap of paper upon which his mother could copy out, in her old-fashioned handwriting, what seemed to be no more than unrelated snippets of Scripture. He only knew that the box, which he would later come to think of as the Shoebox Bible, had something to do with the fact that his father had run away from home. Many years would pass, and his mother would be on her deathbed before he would once again hold this treasure in his hands. And only then would he put together the pieces of the puzzle, and learn the complete truth.

If you like Alan Bradley, you can check out our reading order for the Enola Holmes series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *