The Marvel Event of 2019 is here, and it’s a big one.

What’s War of the Realms?

If you read the Thor series by Jason Aaron, you probably already know what the War of Realms is about. If not, you have some catching up to do.

For some time now, Malekith the Dark Elf has been conquering the Ten Realms one by one until there is only one left: Midgard (Earth!). Thor lost his precious Mjolnir, but he’s still fighting to prevent the war. With a lot of Asgardian warriors and Earth’s heroes, they must now fight against a full-on invasion and defeat Malekith.

War of the Realms Reading Order:

I. Before the War

  1. Thor – The best way is to start with reading Thor with The Goddess of Thunder and follow the guide. Yes, there’s a lot of comics to read. If you don’t want to read all that, you could start with the last relaunch of the series (Thor Vol. 1: God of Thunder Reborn & Thor Vol. 2), Thor #1-11.
  2. The Avengers – Also written by Jason Aaron, of course it’s a must-read, but if you are not interested, you can a least give a look to the second TPB (Avengers by Jason Aaron Vol. 2: World Tour) in order to understand the new team and the Agents of Wakanda.

If you want the TL;DR there’s a War of the Realms Prelude TPB for you. It collects Thor (1966) #344; Thor: God of Thunder #13, 17; Mighty Thor (2015) #1-2, 13-14, 22 and material from Thor: God of Thunder #25; Mighty Thor (2015) #4, 700; Mighty Thor: At the Gates of Valhalla.

II. The War of the Realms

Act I: The World At War

  1. War Of The Realms #1
  2. War Of The Realms #2
  3. Asgardians of the Galaxy #8
  4. Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #43
  5. War Of The Realms: Journey Into Mystery #1
  6. Avengers #18
  7. Thor #12
  8. Venom #13
  9. War Of The Realms: Punisher #1
  10. War Of The Realms: War Scrolls #1
  11. War Of The Realms: Uncanny X-Men #1

Come back soon for a more complete guide, of course, it will be updated every week.