In 2012, after Kieron Gillen and Matt Fraction wrote Thor stories for a few years, Jason Aaron picked up where they left off and he will stop in a few months, but there’s already a lot to read!

Thor by Jason Aaron, the road to the War of Realms

Not as big as Dan slott’s run on Spider-Man, Jason Aaron’s one on Thor is still big, still ongoing, and nobody can say it’s not an Epic One.

With the Original Sin event, the now famous female Thor and the War of Realms, Jason Aaron saw big and wrote some surprising and huge stories.


Thor by Jason Aaron Reading Order:

I. Thor God of Thunder

  1. The God Butcher – Collects Thor: God of Thunder #1-5.
  2. GodBomb – Collects Thor: God of Thunder #6-11.
  3. The Accursed – Collects Thor: God of Thunder #12-18. This is after this volume that the events Infinity  (not written by Aaron) took place.
  4. Last Days of Midgard – Collects Thor: God of Thunder #19-25

You also can find those in collected hardcover form: God of Thunder, Volume 1 and Volume 2.

II. Original Sin

  1. Original Sin: Thor & Loki: The Tenth Realm – This miniseries takes place after the opening of Original Sin, and it’s better to read it before Thor: God of Thunder #24.
  2. Original Sin – Following the murder of Uatu, The Watcher, many secrets are revealed and Thor’s Life changes forever.
  3. Optional : Axis – Thor’s hammer plays a role in the event, so it’s pretty optional, and it takes place before Thor #1.

III. The Female Thor

There’s a female Thor in town and she holds Mjolnir like no other. Odinson is not worthy anymore, but he still fights.

  1. Goddess of Thunder – Collects Thor #1-5
  2. Who Holds The Hammer? – Collects Thor #6-8, Annual#1 and What If? (1977).
  3. Optional: Angela: Asgard’s Assassin: Priceless – Not written by Jason Aaron, but by Kieron Gillen. Cast out of her home and wanting nothing to do with Asgard, Angela must now strike out on her own! It’s about Thor’s sister, but Thor and Loki are in this story.
  4. Event: Secret Wars: Battleworld: Thors – Collects Thors #1-4. There are multiple Thors in this story. This is Jason Aaron’s tie-in, you can also read the main event.
  5. Thunder In Her Veins – Collects Mighty Thor #1-5.
  6. Optional: Angela: Queen of Hel – No thor in this book, but some familiar Asgard faces. Not written by Jason Aaron.
  7. Lords of Midgard – Collects Mighty Thor #6-12.

  1. The Unworthy Thor – mini-series about what happened to Odinson, why he can no longer wield Mjolnir.
  2. Asgard/Shi’ar War – Collects Mighty Thor #13- 19.
  3. The War Thor – Collects Might Thor #20-23 and Thors #4
  4. The Death of the Mighty Thor – Collects Mighty Thor #700-706 and the one-shot At the Gates of Valhalla.

IV. Marvel Fresh Star: Thor

Odinson is the only Thor again, and he’s got a war to win. Also, you can find Aaron and Thor on the new Avengers series .

  1. Thor Vol. 1: God of Thunder Reborn – Collects Thor (2018) #1-6. The new spin-off series Asguardians of the Galaxy starts after Thor #4.
  2. Thor Vol. 2 – Collects Thor (2018) #7-11.
  3. Thor Vol. 3: War’s End – Collects Thor (2018) #12-16. War of Realms tie-in! To know more about the Marvel event, read the dedicated reading order.