How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: spy (Page 1 of 2)

Gabriel Allon Books in Order: How to read Daniel Silva Series?

What an ex-Israeli spy does when he retired? He becomes an Italian art restorer!

Who is Gabriel Allon?

Gabriel Allon is the main protagonist in Daniel Silva series. Ex-Israeli intelligence operative, he now lives under the cover of an Italian art restorer, Mario Delvecchio, in Cornwall, while working for a London-based art dealer.

Of course, Gabriel is pulled back in the world of espionage and must stop terrorists when he doesn’t work in the art world.

Read More

Pike Logan Books in Order: How to read Brad Taylor series?

Who named their son Nephilim? The parents of Nephilim ‘Pike’ Logan of course. But…

Who is Pike Logan?

Ex-Delta Force Commander, Brad Taylor is now the writer of the Pike Logan Series. Nephilim ‘Pike’ Logan is an agent and one of the founding fathers of the Task Force, a secret group of elite agents controlled by the National Security Council. After losing his family, Logan was pushed out.

That’s when he met the young Jennifer Cahill. She saved his life, he did the same soon after. They ended up forming a good team, working for their own company and helping the Task Force by taking on complicated mission.

Read More

Stone Barrington Books in Order: How to read Stuart Woods series?

Nowadays, there is like a ton of new Stone Barrington books on the shelves every year. It’s hard to follow, so here is a guide:

Who is Stone Barrington?

Stone Barrington is a creation of Stuart Woods. He is a former detective forced out of the NYPD because he too often disagreed with his superiors. Now, he is a lawyer who is ‘of counsel’ to Woodman & Weld, a prestigious Manhattan law firm. He handles cases with which the firm does not wish to be publicly associated.

All of Stuart Woods’ novels take place in the same universe. Therefore, some characters frequently appear in other series, like villain Teddy Fay who comes from the Will Lee series or CIA operative Holly Barker and more.

Read More

The Sigma Force Books in Order: How to read James Rollins Series?

There’s a new Sigma Force book in the store, it’s time for a reading order!

What’s The Sigma Force?

Written by James Rollins, The Sigma Force series is obviously about The SIGMA Force. It is a fictional division of the U.S. DARPA program which purpose is to investigate and to secure sensitive information that could be a threat to the United States.

Based in the sub-basement of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C., the Sigma Force is leading counterterrorism, research, and covert operations.

Read More

Will Robie Books in Order: How to read David Baldacci’s series?

I kinda focus on longer series, but I’m trying to change that, starting with the Will Robie series.

Who is Will Robie?

Created by bestseller author David Baldacci, Will Robie is known as the US government’s most professional, disciplined, and lethal assassin.

When the police, the FBI, even the military can’t stop a menace, the government calls on Will Robie and he obeys order without questioning them. Also, he also kills his target. Always.

Read More

Scot Harvath Reading Order: How to read Brad Thor books in order?

Searching something new form my dad who’s into Jack Ryan and other kind of spy thriller type of books. I found out about the Scot Harvath and dig a little to know where to start. But first…

Who is Scot Harvath?

Scot Harvath is an ex-Navy SEAL Secret Service agent, but first he is the main character in the books written by Brad Thor.

Mostly, Scot Harvath is a man dedicated to his country. After some hesitations, a became a Navy SEAL like his father before him. After few years, he decided to left the military to take a position with the Secret Service and ended up guarding the First Family. His career evolved during the series, but this is where he is when the series began.

Read More

How to read George Smiley novels in order?

I don’t know if you heard, George Smiley is back after 27 years of absence. Let’s take a look at his previous apparitions.

Who is George Smiley?

George Smiley is a fictional character created by John le Carré. He is a spy or, more precisely, a career intelligence officer with ‘The Circus’ – the British overseas intelligence agency.

Smiley wasn’t necessarily a central character each time he made an appearance in one of Le Carré’s book. After all, even with a long career, being a spy required to live in the shadows. Smiley may be the most famous British spy after James Bond, but he was definitely another kind of spy.

Read More

Jason Bourne Reading Order: How to read Robert Ludlum’s book series in order?

If you didn’t live outside civilization during the last 15 years, you probably have heard of the Jason Bourne movie series with Matt Damon. As usual, we are here to speak about the books, so let’s go…

Who is Jason Bourne?

That’s a good question. When we met Bourne in the 1980 spy fiction thriller by Robert Ludlum, he didn’t know who he was. He suffered from retrograde amnesia and must find out why the CIA wants him dead.

That’s just the beginning for the most famous super spy since James Bond.

Read More

The Mitch Rapp Series in Order: How to read Vince Flynn book Series?

With an adaptation of the first American Assassin book coming in a cinema near you very soon, let’s take a look at the book series.

What is The Mitch Rapp/American Assassin Series?

Even if that will probably change after the movie, those books are mostly known as the Mitch Rapp Series. Written by Vince Flynn until his death (Kyle Mills is the author now), those novels are about an undercover CIA counterterrorism agent named Mitch Rapp, as you may have guessed it.

Recommended for mature audiences, the Mitch Rapp Series is about stopping terrorist attacks on the United States. Rapp is willing to take measures that might be considered more extreme than he should. Obviously, he gets results, but his road his paved with a lot of frustrations.

Read More

The Laundry Files Reading Order: How to read Charlie Stross series?

Charlie Stross just published a new novel set in his successful Laundy Files series. It’s the perfect moment to do a reading order for the series.

What are The Laundry Files?

So, The Laundry Files is a series of science fiction spy thrillers written by British writer Charles Stross. The story is about Bob Howard, an I.T. consultant who is now afield agent for the British government agency known as The Laundry.

This organization deals with occult threats (with a Lovecraftian influence) and is set in a world where a computer and mathematical equations are just used for calling up other dimensions.

Read More

Page 1 of 2

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén