How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: reading order (Page 3 of 31)

Anno Dracula Books in Order: How to read Kim Newman’s series?

What if vampires rule the world?

What is Anno Dracula about?

Written by British writer Kim Newman, Anno Dracula is a historical/fantasy series in which vampires are common and increasingly dominant in society.

This alternate history brings Count Dracula from Bram Stoker’s novel in Great Britain where nobody stopped him. The series focused on members of the mysterious Diogenes Club which represents the crown in matters that cannot be made public, and mostly two of its members, vampire Geneviève Dieudonné and Charles Beauregard. The series also features a lot of fictional figures for the amateur of metafictions.

Read More

Jericho Quinn Books in Order: How to read Marc Cameron’s series?

By one of the writers working on the Jack Ryan series.

Who is Jericho Quinn?

Prolific American author doesn’t only write Jack Ryan’s story, he is also the man behind another spy thriller series about Special Agent Jericho Quinn.

Air Force veteran, champion boxer and trained assassin Jericho Quinn wad hand-picked for a new global task force that, officially, does not exist. Now, he answers only to the Director of National Intelligence and the U.S. President himself and work to stop the terrorists who want to destroy America.

Read More

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Books in Order: How to read Ann Brashares’ series?

Some jeans are just better than others…

What is the sisterhood of the traveling pants about ?

Bestselling young adult novel written by American novelist Ann Brashares, the sisterhood of the traveling pants is about four friends and one (traveling) pair of pants.

So, once there was a pair of pants. Just an ordinary pair of jeans. But these pants, the Traveling Pants, went on to do great things. This is the story of the four friends—Lena, Tibby, Bridget, and Carmen—who made it possible.

Read More

Barker & Llewelyn Books in Order: How to read Will Thomas’ series?

If you are after some Victorian murder mysteries…

Who are Barker and Llewelyn?

Written by American author Will Thomas, this hard-boiled mystery series is about 19th-century British private detective Barker and his assistant, Thomas Llewelyn.

Set in the 1880s and often feature historical events and people, the series follow Private Enquiry Agent Cyrus Barker and Llewelyn in London as they investigate dark and violent murder mysteries (they even go after Jack the Ripper) or work for Her Majesty’s government to avoid diplomatic crisis and.

Read More

Benjamin January Books in Order: How to read Barbara Hambly’s series?

New Orleans was a different place in the 1830s…

Who is Benjamin January?

Benjamin January is the main character in this series of historical murder mystery novels written by the American novelist and screenwriter Barbara Hambly.

Creole physician—he trained in Paris as a surgeon—and music teacher living in New Orleans during the 1830s, Benjamin January is a free black who solves murder mysteries to help his friends and his community or just to save himself as the world around him is changing.

Read More

Arkady Renko Books in Order: How to read Martin Cruz Smith’s series?

A Russian Murder Mystery…

Who is Arkady Renko?

Written by American author Martin Cruz Smith, this series is about Arkady Renko, a chief homicide inspector for the prosecutor’s office, in Moscow, Russia, fighting against corruption and for the truth.

Taking place before, during and after the fall of the Soviet Union, the series follow Arkady Renko as he investigates murders that take him in the middle of complex socio-political situations. Paying the price of opposing those who have the power is something he is much too familiar with.

Read More

Amelia Peabody Books in Order: How to read Elizabeth Peters’ series?

Mysteries in Egypt!

Who is Amelia Peabody?

Historical mystery novels written by American author and Egyptologist Barbara Mertz under the pen name Elizabeth Peters (also known as Barbara Michaels when she wrote Gothic novels), this series tell the adventures of Egyptologist Amelia Peabody Emerson.

At the beginning at least, because Amelia quickly get married and bring all her family—her distinguished husband Radcliffe Emerson, their son Ramses and, later, their ward Nefret—into her adventures, mostly in Egypt with mummies, thieves, murderers and all sorts of criminals.

Read More

Lady Hardcastle Mysteries Books in Order: How to read T.E. Kinsey’s series?

Even at the beginning of the 20th century, a lady could solve murder mysteries.

Who Lady Hardcastle is?

Written by murder mystery writer Tim Kinsey, the Lady Hardcastle Mysteries series take us back at the start of the 20th century for some sleuthing.

Born Emily Charlotte Ariadne Featherstonhaugh, Lady Emily Hardcastle is now an eccentric widow but mostly a retired spy turned amateur sleuth. With the help of Florence Armstrong, her maid and confidante who is also an expert in martial arts, she always found a crime to investigate.

Read More

Easy Rawlins Books in Order: How to read Walter Mosley’s series?

Did you know Denzel Washington played Easy Rawlins in the Devil in a Blue Dress movie in 1995?

Who Easy Rawlins is?

Created by mystery author Walter Mosley, Ezekiel “Easy” Porterhouse Rawlins is an African-American private investigator.

More precisely, Rawlins is a hard-boiled detective and World War II veteran from, Louisiana living in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, from the 1940s to the 1960s. Most of the time, he is reluctant to take on cases, but even when he doesn’t have a choice, he does his best.

Read More

Kopp Sisters Books in Order: How to read Amy Stewart’s series?

Based on a true story…

What are the Kopp sisters series about?

Based on the true story of Constance Kopp from New Jersey, with, one of America’s first female deputy sheriffs, and her sisters, the Kopp Sisters Series is written by Amy Stewart.

This is not a series of biographies, but the fictionalized lives of three real-life sisters. There’s thirty-five-year-old Constance and her two younger sisters. First, there’s Norma, the no-nonsense sister, and then, there’s Fleurette, the youngest who is really Constance’s illegitimate daughter. Courageous, stubborn, independents and resourceful, the sisters hunt criminals and fight for justice.

Read More

Page 3 of 31

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén