How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: books (Page 2 of 14)

Spenser Books in Order: How to read Robert B. Paker series?

Did you know that Robert Urich AND Joe Mantegna played Spenser on TV? I didn’t (for Mantegna).

Who is Spenser?

Created by Robert B. Paker, Spenser is a Boston private eye. He is a well-educated ex-boxer and former State trooper who lives by a code of honor. And he likes to drink Scotch. His best friend and sidekick is Hawk, an African American who is a “Gun for Hire” who lives by his own personal code.

Spenser and Hawk live in the same Boston literary universe as Parker’s other characters like private investigator Sunny Randall and small-town police chief Jesse Stone.

Read More

Barbara Holloway Books in Order: How to read Kate Wilhelm series?

I wrote about the Dismas Hardy series, I thought I could continue with another series about a lawyer. This time, we are talking about Barbara Holloway.

Who is Barbara Holloway?

Written by Kate Wilhelm (RIP), this series is about Barbara Holloway, an attorney in Eugene, Oregon. She is described as intelligent, courageous, and compassionate. And, with the help of her semi-retired lawyer father and other friends and colleagues, Barbara Holloway works to uncover the truth in and outside the courtroom.

Read More

Dismas Hardy Books in Order: How to read John Lescroart series?

Some series are about more than the main character, as John Lescroart proves it with his extended universe.

Who is Dismas Hardy?

Created by American author John Lescroart, Dismas Hardy is an ex-cop and lawyer who live in San Francisco and work a lot with his best friend, officer Abe Glitsky, among many other friends and associates.

Lescroart books are not always about Dismas Hardy, but the lawyer is the main protagonist in most of them. Some center around Abe Glitsky, the private investigator Wyatt Hunt, Rebecca Hardy (Dismas’s daughter) or Gina Roake, a partner in Dismas Hardy’s firm.

Read More

Maggie MacGowen Books in Order: How to read Wendy Hornsby series?

You don’t need to be a cop to investigate crimes, like Maggie MacGowen, you can also be a documentary filmmaker.

Who is Maggie MacGowen?

That’s right, Maggie MacGowen is an investigative documentary film maker, and the main protagonist of the crime novel series written by Edgar Award-winning author Wendy Hornsby.

Working on her documentaries leads Maggie MacGowen to investigate, but her complicated family life is also a source of dangers and mysteries.

FYI, the first five books were published between 1993 and 1998. The series came back after 10 years with book 6. Since then, new books are coming out regularly.

Read More

John Wells Books in Order: How to read Alex Berenson series?

John Wells, the spy, not the screenwriter and producer of The West Wing.

Who is John Wells?

Written by American author and former reporter for The New York Times Alex Berenson, the John Wells series is about a CIA agent named John Wells – as you may have guessed.

John Wells spent the formative years of his CIA career under deep cover with al-Qaeda, his success costing him the trust of his handlers. Now, he works to clean up corruption from foreign governments, as well as his own.

Read More

The Courtney Series in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

If you are into epic family/historical saga, The Courtney Series is for you.

What is the Courtney series?

Published since 1964 by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, The Courtney Series chronicle the lives of the Courtney family, from the 1860s through until 1987.

The Courtney Series was not written chronologically. The first books follow the twins Sean and Garrick Courtney from the 1860s until 1925. Then, the next ones were about Centaine de Thiry Courtney, her sons and grandchildren between 1917 and 1987. The last ones are also about successive generations of the Courtney family, from the 1660s through until the Second World War.

Read More

Anne of Green Gables Books in Order: How to read L. M. Montgomery series?

Now a Netflix Original series…

Who is Anne of Green Gables?

Written by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables is a classic that spun off a popular series and a lot of TV, film, radio and stage adaptations.

It’s about the life of Anne Shirley, from childhood to motherhood and beyond. Anne is bright and quick, eager to please, talkative, and extremely imaginative. She has a pale face with freckles and usually braids her red hair. An orphan, she was sent to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert on their farm, Green Grables, in the fictional town of Avonlea on Prince Edward Island.

Read More

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books in Order: How to read Alexander McCall Smith series?

Do you remember the TV show of the same name from HBO/BBC? Well, it was an adaptation, as you may have guessed.

What’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency about?

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is a series of crime novels by British writer Alexander McCall Smith set in Botswana and featuring the character Mma Precious Ramotswe.

When she is 34 years old, using the inheritance from her father, Mma Ramotswe moves to the capital city Gaborone to start up her detective agency? She buys a house for herself and find an office for her new business. Then, she starts solving problems!

Read More

Hannah Swensen Books in Order: How to read Joanne Fluke series?

A little change of pace today with some food flavored murder mysteries.

Who’s Hannah Swensen?

Created by American author Joanne Fischmann, aka Joanne Fluke, Hannah Swensen is the main protagonist of a literary mystery series about a baker who lives in a small Minnesota town and solves crime.

If this seems a little bit familiar to you, maybe it’s because there’s an adaptation on the Hallmark TV channel called Murder, She Baked—a brilliant title IMHO.

Read More

Her Royal Spyness Books in Order: How to read Rhys Bowen series?

If you like a bit of historical comedy with some British royalty, Her Royal Spyness is for you.

What is Her Royal Spyness?

Written by British author Rhys Bowen, Her Royal Spyness is a humorous historical series about the penniless cousin of King George V of England in 1932 who is acting as a spy for the queen.

Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, daughter to the Duke of Atholt and Rannoch, is flat broke. And when her brother cuts off her allowance, she leaves Scotland for London where she has been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son. Soon, this amateur sleuth starts to solve crimes.

Read More

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén