How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: books (Page 1 of 13)

The Courtney Series in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

If you are into epic family/historical saga, The Courtney Series is for you.

What is the Courtney series?

Published since 1964 by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, The Courtney Series chronicle the lives of the Courtney family, from the 1860s through until 1987.

The Courtney Series was not written chronologically. The first books follow the twins Sean and Garrick Courtney from the 1860s until 1925. Then, the next ones were about Centaine de Thiry Courtney, her sons and grandchildren between 1917 and 1987. The last ones are also about successive generations of the Courtney family, from the 1660s through until the Second World War.

Read More

Anne of Green Gables Books in Order: How to read L. M. Montgomery series?

Now a Netflix Original series…

Who is Anne of Green Gables?

Written by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables is a classic that spun off a popular series and a lot of TV, film, radio and stage adaptations.

It’s about the life of Anne Shirley, from childhood to motherhood and beyond. Anne is bright and quick, eager to please, talkative, and extremely imaginative. She has a pale face with freckles and usually braids her red hair. An orphan, she was sent to live with Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert on their farm, Green Grables, in the fictional town of Avonlea on Prince Edward Island.

Read More

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books in Order: How to read Alexander McCall Smith series?

Do you remember the TV show of the same name from HBO/BBC? Well, it was an adaptation, as you may have guessed.

What’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency about?

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is a series of crime novels by British writer Alexander McCall Smith set in Botswana and featuring the character Mma Precious Ramotswe.

When she is 34 years old, using the inheritance from her father, Mma Ramotswe moves to the capital city Gaborone to start up her detective agency? She buys a house for herself and find an office for her new business. Then, she starts solving problems!

Read More

Hannah Swensen Books in Order: How to read Joanne Fluke series?

A little change of pace today with some food flavored murder mysteries.

Who’s Hannah Swensen?

Created by American author Joanne Fischmann, aka Joanne Fluke, Hannah Swensen is the main protagonist of a literary mystery series about a baker who lives in a small Minnesota town and solves crime.

If this seems a little bit familiar to you, maybe it’s because there’s an adaptation on the Hallmark TV channel called Murder, She Baked—a brilliant title IMHO.

Read More

Her Royal Spyness Books in Order: How to read Rhys Bowen series?

If you like a bit of historical comedy with some British royalty, Her Royal Spyness is for you.

What is Her Royal Spyness?

Written by British author Rhys Bowen, Her Royal Spyness is a humorous historical series about the penniless cousin of King George V of England in 1932 who is acting as a spy for the queen.

Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, daughter to the Duke of Atholt and Rannoch, is flat broke. And when her brother cuts off her allowance, she leaves Scotland for London where she has been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son. Soon, this amateur sleuth starts to solve crimes.

Read More

Eagles of the Empire Books in Order: How to read Simon Scarrow series?

If you are into the Saxon stories by Bernard Cornwell, maybe you should try this.

What is the Eagles of the Empire series?

The Eagles of the Empire is a Roman military fiction set in the territories of the Roman Empire, covering the second invasion of Britain and the subsequent prolonged campaign undertaken by the rump of the Julio-Claudian dynasty.

Like the TV Show Rome, this series written by Simon Scarrow follows two main protagonists, Quintus Licinius Cato and Lucius Cornelius Macro, who are both Roman soldiers. The first grew up in the Imperial Palace as a slave and joins the Eagles at the beginning of the series. The second is a veteran of nearly 15 years of service in the Roman Army.

Read More

Cork O’Connor Books in Order: How to read William Kent Krueger series?

Lucas Davenport isn’t the only detective from Minnesota, there’s also Cork O’Connor.

Who is Cork O’Connor?

The main protagonist in a Crime novel series written by William Kent Krueger, Corcoran “Cork” O’Connor is the former sheriff of Aurora, Minnesota.

Part Irish, part Anishinaabe Indian, Cork was once a cop on Chicago’s South Side, and after being the sheriff of Aurora, he became a private detective. Trouble always finds Cork in his personal and his professional life.

Read More

Michael Bennett Books in Order: How to read James Patterson series?

Did James Patterson ever stop to produce new books?

Who is Michael Bennett?

The main protagonist in the crime series written by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge, Michael Bennett is a New York city cop.

He is also a six-foot-three Irish American with 10 adopted kids. He cares for them with the help of his au pair, Mary Catherine, and his grandfather Seamus. His wife, Maeve, died of cancer in December 2007 (in the first book). It’s a lot of work, but it doesn’t stop Michael Bennett to be the best at what it does. And being that good comes with a lot of enemies…

Read More

Alex Hawke Books in Order: How to read Ted Bell series?

I always find it quite funny that American author wrote about British characters, like Alex Hawke. But it works.

Who is Alex Hawke?

Lord Alexander Hawke is a British secret agent created by American author Ted Bell.

While sailing in the Caribbean, young Alex Hawke witnesses an act of unspeakable horror as modern-day pirates brutally murder his parents. It is a tragedy that will haunt him forever, and shape his destiny.

Now adult, Alex Hawke works as a skilled spy for the British government and stop international crisis on a regular basis.

Read More

Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Books in Order: How to read Laurell K. Hamilton series?

Sookie Stackhouse isn’t the only one to have a complicated relationship with vampires, ask Anita Blake.

Who is Anita Blake?

Created by American author Laurell K. Hamilton, Anita Blake is a vampire hunter and necromancer who lives in the city of St. Louis. Not our St. Louis, but one in an alternate universe where magic, vampires, werewolves and other supernatural elements are quite real.

Working as a professional zombie animator, legal vampire executioner and supernatural consultant for the police,  Anita solves crimes, helps keep the peace and try not to get into too much trouble with her really complicated love life.

Read More

Page 1 of 13

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén