Don’t call her Spider-Gwen, she’s Spider-Woman… or Spider-Ghost!

Who is Spider-Gwen?

Like her friend Silk (see the reading order), Spider-Gwen first appeared with the first Spider-verse event. Conceptualized by long-time Spider-Man writer Dan Slott (more about him), but really created by Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriguez, this Spider-Woman is not from the main Marvel universe.

Spider-Gwen is really the Gwen Stacy of Earth-65. Like the Peter Parker we know and love, she was a high school student when she was bitten by a radioactive spider. Now, with super spider powers, she became the superhero known as Spider-Woman. She fights crime on her Earth with enemies like Matt Murdock and Frank Castle.


Spider-Gwen Reading Order:

0. The Spider-Verse Event

No need to introduce this huge event, there’s already a reading order. The short version is : The Spider People of the multiverse must become allies in order to fight the Inheritors who feed on the energy of the spiders.

  1. Amazing Spider-Man: Edge of Spider-Verse – Collects Edge of Spider -Verse #1-5. Spider-Gwen debuted in Edge of Spider-Verse #2.
  2. Spider-Verse – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #7-15, Superior Spider-Man #32-33, Spider-Verse #1-2, Spider-Verse Team-Up #1-3, Scarlet Spiders #1-3, Spider-Woman (2014) #1-4, Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #6-8 and more.

I. The Spider-Gwen Solo Series

After the Spider-Verse event, Spider-Gwen got her own series…

  1. Spider-Gwen: Most Wanted? – Collects Edge of Spider-Verse #2 and Spider-Gwen (vol. 1) #1–5.
  2. Spider-Gwen: Greater Power – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #1–6 .
  3. Spider-Women – This is a mini-crossover with Silk, Jessica Drew and Spider-Gwen. There’re jumps between universes, an Evil Silk and more. This TPB collects Silk Vol. 2. #7–8, Spider-Gwen Vol. 2, #7–8, & Spider-Woman Vol. 6, #6–7

Interlude: Web Warriors

Web Warriors is a fun series about a team of Spider-People who are living interdimensional adventures. Spider-Gwen is part of this team, obviously. It started directly after the Spider-Verse, you can read it in parallel of the previous TPBs.

  1. Spider-Verse: Warzones – This story is not part of the main continuity. Spider-Gwen teams up with the other Spider People during the Multiverse ending event of Secret Wars.
  2. Web Warriors of the Spider-Verse Vol. 1: Electroverses – Collects Web Warriors #1-5, Amazing Spider-Man #1 (Web Warriors story).
  3. Web Warriors of the Spider-Verse Vol. 2: Spiders Vs. – Collects: Web Warriors #6-11.

  1. Spider-Gwen: Weapon of Choice – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #9–13
  2. Spider-Gwen: Long Distance – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #14-15, Spider-Gwen Annual #1 and All-New Wolverine Annual #1.
  3. Spider-Man/Spider-Gwen: Sitting in a Tree – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #16-18 and Spider-Man (2016) #12-14.

Interlude 2

  1. Champions: Champion for a Day – Spider-Gwen joins the Champions temporarily for a few issues. Collects Champions #16-18, #1.MU.
  2. Dead No More: The Clone Conspiracy – It’s optional. Gwen is on Earth 616 and she ends up taking the place of the last clone of Gwen Stacy. She plays a small part in the event. You can find a full reading order here.

  1. Spider-Gwen: Predators – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #19–23.
  2. Spider-Gwen: Gwenom – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #24–29.
  3. Spider-Gwen: The Life and Times of Gwen Stacy – Collects Spider-Gwen (Vol 2) #30-34.

This is the end of the Spider-Gwen solo series… but not the end of the adventures of Gwen Stacy.

II. Spider-Gwen: Ghost spider

Spider-Gwen takes a new start and a new name: Ghost Spider.

  1. Spider-Geddon – It’s optional. You don’t need it, even if the new Ghost Spider series is technically part of the event, but if you want more context, it’s a good story, a solid conclusion to the Spider-verse event. Follow the guide…
  2. Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider Vol. 1 – Collects Spider-Gwen: Ghost Spider #1-4.